Home > Uncategorized > Perilous Myr

Perilous Myr

I’ll let you in on a little secret: I’m a sucker for cute things. I’m not just talking about interesting, appealing interactions between certain cards but physically cute things like kittens, cleverly designed cakes, and Myr.

Yes, I have a soft spot for those admirably misguided yet intriguingly adorable “Memarch‘s little helpers” who scuttle around Mirrodin. As I played through this past weekend’s Prerelease Events for Scars of Mirrodin there was one little Myr that I was always happy to see: Perilous Myr.

Perilous Myr, Common from Scars of Mirrodin

This little cute ball of death was a heroic champ in virtually every game he appeared, whether it was on my side or against. At first glance this guy reminded me of Mudbutton Torchrunner. However the two are quite a bit different:

  • Perilous Myr costs two mana compared to the Torchrunner’s cost of three
  • Perilous Myr requires only colorless mana as opposed to the red-required Torchrunner

Those two differences make these two stand worlds apart. I had wanted to try Mudbutton Torchrunner in my cube but three mana was just a touch too much since the three drop slot is already packed for red. However, this little two mana colorless guy feels so different. Regardless of the color of the deck he felt right at home in Sealed events. I saw him pair up with a piece of equipment and give myself, and opponents, fits.

It’s not that he’ll kill anyone fast but that the value that can be obtained from him is huge. On the offense or defense he usually something your opponent doesn’t want to die. Being able to take something down on the way out gives him such beastly value and makes combat math a headache, in a good way.

Looking over my cube I see dozens of two and three toughness creatures he could take our or trade with. While I really enjoyed him in multiples, I think having just one may be interesting enough, especially as a replacement for Moonglove Extract. It would put another body into a blue control deck looking for removal anywhere it can get it.

And, of course, it’s just so cuddly I’m tempted to shove it in just for fun. No one can deny that dropping a Perilous Myr and audibly chirping like a pikmin doesn’t at least tug at your heartstrings a little.

  1. wortwelt
    October 4, 2010 at 8:36 PM

    Well thought out, Sir. I’ll definitely test the little myr in my half-powered cube. The casting cost and being colorless really make it shine. Added bonus, this often feels and plays like a “red” card, and red often doesn’t get much respect in Cubes these days.

    I really want to push red’s power level as far as I can, and this is a subtle but fine addition.

    Plus: Just yesterday I got a foil German version. They translated “Perilous Myr” to “Gefährlicher Myr”, which semantically tends more to be “Dangerous Myr”. In my head, that’s still a contradiction, and I think that’s really neat 😀

    • October 4, 2010 at 8:50 PM

      Blue-red seems like the sweet spot for “Dangerous Myr.” If red didn’t have as much burn at common it would be the weakest color, and I’ll be keeping an eye on it anyway.

      Funny that you mention German cards: I’ve been looking for a foil German Wild Mongrel. From what I understand it loosely translates to “Savage Bastard.” Somehow, “Savage Bastard” would ring so much better when pounding in with him.

      • October 5, 2010 at 8:02 AM

        “Wilder Mischling”, right! I am from Germany, so German cards are quite common here (although most players like English or Asian versions of cards more). I often compare the translation and use what I like better.

        As for a foil “Wilder Mischling”, I’ll keep an eye out! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

