Home > Uncategorized > Strider Harness

Strider Harness

If you missed yesterday’s huge Scars of Mirrodin update proposal I encourage, no implore you to check out what I’m thinking and share what you think about it. I really do appreciate your perspective even if you don’t believe you wholly understand: all levels of knowledge, experience, and ideas provide insight into how my cube appears.

I think you matter! You win the prize, et cetera and so forth.

Entering the Danger Zone

One of the changes I’m proposing due to Scars of Mirrodin is swapping Whispersilk Cloak out for one of the new equipment cards: Strider Harness.

Strider Harness, Common from Scars of Mirrodin

There are a lot of things I like about Strider Harness:

  • Once it hits the table it becomes an endless Reckless Charge of sorts
  • It buffs a creature, turning “small fry” into “more aggressive guy”
  • The cost to equip is just one mana: cheap and easy to play the “Equip. Attack. Move to Defender. Go.” game

Winning creature battles is very important in Limited. Hitting with slightly harder creatures slightly faster is certainly a path to victory.

However what I’d like to take out for this is a spot of contention. The comments speak this clearly: Whispersilk Cloak is also a very strong card.  The Cloak does a lot of things too:

  • Shroud is both a rare effect at common and a strong effect in Limited
  • Unblockable creature is unblockable (Translation: Kills opponents dead.)
  • Combining both effects on a creature like Halimar Wavewatch or Errant Ephemeron should lock a game up

I have no doubt about the potential power of the Cloak. What I have issue with is the all-too-often lack of relevance it has. Suiting up a 1/1 or a 2/2 doesn’t change a poor board state. It may break a stalemate but doesn’t help you climb back into the game.

The Harness, with it’s +1/+1 boost helps you trade up at worst and send in a fresh fatty at best. I’ve witnessed the fury of a Reckless Charge making aggro threaten quickly. I just can’t shake the feeling that boosting damage will work better with more decks than the Cloak has shown so far.

  1. Jesse
    October 6, 2010 at 8:09 AM

    You make a good point Mr. Styborski… What else to take out indeed. Life has been getting in the way of playing with and/or updating the cube, so it may be a while before I can opine about this conundrum. In the meantime: “Hm”

    @pluckmyeyeout on twitter

    P.S. Cube blog ideas: more pictures of your actual cube, board-states, etc. Maybe art fights a-la-Thea’s cube.

    • October 6, 2010 at 9:08 AM

      It’s tricky since I want equipment to be meaningful when it hits the board. And I don’t want to just include both and expand out so soon after getting down to 363: ideally I would cut 3 more cards!

      And thanks for the ideas. I have a visual project I’m working on that you might enjoy. If you think of more things just let me know!

  2. Jesse
    October 7, 2010 at 9:20 AM

    I am a visual master. Email me! I want in. pluckmyeyeout at gmail

  3. Jesse
    October 7, 2010 at 9:32 AM

    Another thought. Cloak is better in fewer decks but it’s deceptive. People see cloak and think bomb, but it’s really only good if you have a fatty finisher and lots of removal or a sweeper (pestilence, crypt rats, etc.) to clear the board and eliminate the need for blockers. I DO like them both, but I think something else can be cut. What that is right now I don’t know. I still have to take a look and get back to you about that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

