Home > Uncategorized > Glimmerpost

Glimmerpost

As I’ll continue to plug all week, I’ve made a proposed set of changes for the cube thanks to the amazing diversity and strength of commons in Scars of Mirrodin. If you missed it or think you have some ideas, check out what it’s all about and tell if you think I’m wrong. At least that’s what I hear back the most.

Short Post is Short

While the Internet isn’t always the easiest source of information I’ll share something with you now: I’m running late. This post is going up tight to my daily deadline and it’s something that I don’t like to do.

This doesn’t mean that I don’t have something interesting for you today.

Something I haven’t yet touched on in these daily reviews are land cards. Specifically, the nonbasic lands that have made it into the cube. As you can easily discern from the Scars of Mirrodin update there is a land that did not make the cut: Glimmerpost.

Glimmerpost, Common from Scars of Mirrodin

Let’s start by taking a look at the good things about Glimmerpost:

  • You will gain at least one life with the potential for two (since there are only two lands with the Locus subtype, both commons)
  • It does not enter the battlefield tapped, resulting in no tempo loss
  • It provides colorless mana and doesn’t impact building a particular archetype

It’s an innocent card that can fit into nearly any deck to provide an incremental life boost. While one life seems insignificant I task you to recall the number of times you’re experience or heard of winning a game with exactly the right amount of damage or losing the game with the opponent clinging at just one life.

It’s this type of tension that makes me appreciate Limited so much.

But Glimmerpost obviously isn’t all fun and sunshine:

  • The Locus subtype is a parasitic theme: it really wants more and many Locus lands which doesn’t work in cube
  • Cloudpost isn’t as friendly to a singleton Limited environment as Glimmerpost, meaning that Glimmerpost stands alone
  • What type of player would actively desire to draft a card that situationally could make the deck dependent upon the final color requirements?

I love little quirky cards like this. There is subtle, soft-spoken potential that lies beneath the facade of “worthless in cube.” While I’d love to make room and try out cards like Glimmerpost I don’t believe testing will yield the result I’d wish to see.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

