Home > Uncategorized > Tumble Magnet (Again)

Tumble Magnet (Again)

When I first fired up this blog I had one goal which was clearly  stated:

I’m going to review commons, one common a day.

It didn’t take too long for my blog to morph away from reviewing commons (and into much meatier, juicier topics around pauper cubes) and it finally succumbed to non-daily content updating due to a variety of personal excuses. Despite earnestly pushing to meet the goal of posting daily, even haranguing about a remotely Magic-related vacation while still actually on said vacation, I fell short.

These past two weeks have been tough for me due to the very personal loss of a family member. After falling off the content delivery horse it’s been very difficult to get back up on it. But that doesn’t mean my intentions were there.

So let’s cut to the chase: I promise you slightly deeper, slightly richer content with a delivery goal of weekly, rather than daily, and you promise to continue to read and share what you’re view on it is.

Does this work for you? If it doesn’t, I’m sorry. While I could tease you with some upcoming super-secret stuff I’m working on outside of here (Did you see what I did there?) I’ll instead jog your memory with a quick throwback: Tumble Magnet.

Tumble Magnet, a Common from Scars of Mirrodin

Tumble Magnet has been an interesting fellow. It’s proven itself in both Scars of Mirrodin Draft and Sealed. I’ve gotten reports that it’s made a strong showing in pauper and common/uncommon cubes. I’ve even caught wind that it might even make Standard constructed.

While that last one may be a stretch at the moment the fact remains that this little artifact is a cheap, fairly efficient way to create breakthroughs for aggressive decks. While I had originally put my eye on this I misjudged just how useful colorless damage pushing can be until I drafted a Zoo deck that desperately wanted just such an effect.

There is never a guarantee in Limited that a card needed will show up for a deck a card like this has use far beyond providing tempo for an aggressive deck. The question becomes now “What do I take out?” Perusing my list yields a few options:

While replacing a creature with a noncreature isn’t ideal the fact is most players are running colored creatures anyway; those creatures are just stronger.  Between the Solider and Scuttlemutt, I’d rather replace Scuttlemutt: the Soldier is phenomenal in comparison: high toughness and vigilance make nice with any control deck looking for able bodies.

I’ve never seen Scuttlemutt do other than be bad mana ramping and chump block except in one four-color control type deck.  Other sources of mana fixing are far preferable to the slower, removal-vulnerable Scuttlemutt.  However I’ve already pared mana fixing down and keeping count of colorless bodies up is definitely good.

My call here is to simply add the Magnet on.  Going to 364 is fine since my next goal would be to find another artifact to notch up to a total of 365 – then cut five cards.

And look, I got the whole way through without a “How do they work?” joke.

Oh. Wait.

  1. Troy
    November 17, 2010 at 10:16 AM

    Why hold to the 360 tight pool? That means 8 people will draft all 360 cards, so anyone that knows the cube at all will know that any/every card is IN the draft. Sure, some will end up in the sideboards, but not cards like Doom Blade. Every knows that card is “out there somewhere.” Why not add another 75 cards (15 per color + 15 gold/other). That way there is a little more mystery and you get a bit more room to grow your cube.

    • November 17, 2010 at 10:24 AM

      Why I’m holding close to 360 is a great question, one worth of an entire post to clarify.

      Expect some details soon!

  2. Troy
    November 17, 2010 at 10:22 AM

    Oh, and no worries about content. Obviously you do this for yourself as well as for us who read. We all understand that life has cycles, up and down. You can’t be consistent 24/7/365. Give yourself a break. Daily is probably a bit much anyway. Weekly may be a bit too slow. Think about 2-3 times weekly and keep the posts short. If you have a longer idea, break it up. Don’t know about WordPress, but Blogger lets you post with future dates, so you can do all your writing at one sitting, but deliver multiple posts spread throughout the week.

  3. November 17, 2010 at 11:27 PM

    Scuttles was a card that I considered essentially sacrosanct, but you do raise good points. It has always felt like a “safe” card but it doesn’t really do its job well, its being a creature is essentially a weakness, yet its ability isn’t so good that its weakness makes up for the card’s function (ie Scuttles certainly is no Fauna Shaman.)

    I may end up cutting it for Yotian after some thought (I recently did a ton of changes on my commons cube) or at least replace Scuttles for something.

    But yeah, I definitely think that Tumble Magnet (how does it work?) is a great card and adding it should be good. I agree that perfect multiples of 5 aren’t really necessary. They’re nice but not the be-all-end -all and may be a relic from the origins of the format, where there was only 1 cube in Ontario.

  4. Sanders
    November 18, 2010 at 4:06 PM

    Sanders says: Daily content or GET OUT!

    • November 18, 2010 at 5:21 PM

      I was going to ‘Unapprove’ this comment in order to put you back under filter but, really, you deserve to pound me after i insisted on updating over vacation. I genuinely would like to provide daily content again.

  1. February 8, 2011 at 9:49 PM

Leave a Reply

